• The AGN App is ready! Search "Airgun Nation" in your App store. To compliment this new tech we've assigned the "Threads" Feed & "Dark" Mode. To revert back click HERE.

Is HW50 .177 Sufficient for Rabbit Hunting?

I am quite new to shooting, and I am interested in trying rabbit hunting for fun and food. I am in Los Angeles County. I see varying information on the Internet about 22 caliber, being the better pellet for rabbits, but I have also seen information on these boards, indicating that .177 is more than enough pellet to do the job. I am thinking of getting an HW 50 .177 as a starter as opposed to an HW 95. If I become proficient and find a reason for a .22 I am thinking I could add an HW 95 in that caliber later. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Yes the HW50 I think would work very well. BUT 1st,,Find the most accurate pellet for your particular rifle before you go shooting animals. Only shoot under good conditions as in (not to windy). The wind will push those little pellets around quite a bit. I myself would keep the max distance to 25-30 yds. Check your all your stock screws for snugness before u take it out.Takes about 10 seconds. I got my HW50 from KRALE. It's a great handling,hard hitting,accurate little rifle. I love it.

I am quite new to shooting, and I am interested in trying rabbit hunting for fun and food. I am in Los Angeles County. I see varying information on the Internet about 22 caliber, being the better pellet for rabbits, but I have also seen information on these boards, indicating that .177 is more than enough pellet to do the job. I am thinking of getting an HW 50 .177 as a starter as opposed to an HW 95. If I become proficient and find a reason for a .22 I am thinking I could add an HW 95 in that caliber later. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.