Hello all, I've been doing some research on what air pistol/rifle to get. I just recently started to get the bug again after years of being gone from the airguns and shooting rimfire/centerfire. I currently own a Beeman P-3 that Ive owned for many years but haven't shot it for a few years but after shooting it again I got the bug. I've been going back and forth on rifle vs pistol and I keep researching the Crosman 2300S it seems to be a good compromise. The opinions from present owners would be match appreciated, I'm new to CO2 air guns.

Great pistol for the price and has the good Williams rear sight. There are a ton of mod parts for it
Fantastic sights, trigger not so much. Get a 1701p trigger group and hammer and it will be excellent. I don't see any complete trigger groups on ebay. The first one that I did, I got a Crosman parts list for the 1701p, and ordered each individual part from Crosman, quite a bit more pricy that way but it worked out fine.This gives a two stage trigger with adjustments for first and second stage as well as pull weight. Well worth it. I had the piercing pin stick in a CO2 cartridge, requiring disassembly of the gun to remove so I gave the tip of that pin a high polish, and am always sure to put a drop of oil on the tip of the cartridge before installing and have had no more problems.

I've had a 2300T & 2300S along with 3 2240s. Still have two 2240s. One as a pistol one as a carbine. The 2300s use the same breech as the .22 cal. Makes pellet loading finicky. Power adjuster is almost useless. Rear sight is pretty good. Triggers all need some "love". I got around this by making my own sears.
Myself...I would buy a 2240xl. Use the money you save for upgrades.
Hope this helps.😀