• Please consider adding your "Event" to the Calendar located on our Home page!

Absolute Novice's 20 yard "Wanabe like Manabe" challenge

Hi all,

I'm Angelo, 33 years, Dutch but I live in Aruba, and I'm new here. I bought my first air rifle three days ago. I have about 350 shots with it so far, and other then a day of shooting with a friend when I was a teenager I have no experience. I saw the Manabe challenge on this forum and thought it would be fun to give it a try. You will all probably get a good laugh out of it but I'm actually pretty happy with it because the first day I got the rifle I was lucky to even hit a bottle at 20 yards
The Rifle used is a Benjamin Trail NP XL 1500. As I understand not the ideal beginners rifle but I'm having a ton of fun shooting it. I have read a lot about air guns the last days, and it amazes me how a few simple tips like artillery hold and breathing technique have an immediate effect in getting better.

I forgot to fill out the form on the target:
Benjamin trail NP XL 1500 .177
The scope that came with it , center point 3-9x40
Crossman Premier Hollowpoint (7.9 ithink) the only ones I have now.

Anyway, here the results, I used the paper with 25 1 inch targets, because the 100 target paper that some us is just too difficult for me.
I was doing "so good" the first 9 shots, then the 10th miss made me nervous and broke my concentration. Curious to see my results a month from now when I have tried different pellets.

Reactions: CampFussell
"Hook, line, and sinker!" 

In case you are not familiar with the above phrase, it is a fishing metaphor. It means, that you are like a fish that ate not only the bait, but the hook, the leader line, and the weight (sinker). In other words you have become completely hooked on airguns. This is a good thing, in my opinion.