• The AGN App is ready! To compliment this new tech we've assigned the "Threads" Feed & "Dark" Mode. To revert back click HERE.

Complete setup for coyote hunting newb

Hello folks. I've been lurking around the forums for a couple of weeks now.
I live in Los Angeles in a semi rural area. I know all my neighbors and they're pretty much fine with noises and what not.

However, I'd like to keep it as civil as possible.

We've had a big problem with coyotes lately. They've taken out a few barn cats that were strays and folks took them in. I'm seriously afraid about our pets in our property. I've managed to keep them out of harms way by setting sensors all over the property but I'm tired of waking up at 4 in the morning to chase 5 to 6 coyotes out.

Anyhow, I am a complete newbie to airguns. I have rifles but alas, I live in Los Angeles. I can't just discharge a firearm in my yard without running into problems. An airgun will have to do.

After reading around the forums, I think a .357 Benjamin Bulldog will do the job. I noticed there's a .457 up for sale on the classified sections.
My question is, will a .457 do?
Would it be way too loud?
Any way of suppressing noise?
What kind of scope would you recommend?
Air compressor recommendations?
What kind of cartridges do you recommend?

All the questions! Also, if there's another rifle that you'd suggest, please send it my way. I don't mind buying something used to save a few bucks as well.

Edit: Also considering a Texan since the seem to be quieter.

Last edited: