Daisy daisy 747

Pistol is cocked, bolt open. There is resistance when opening the lever, then it will almost close by itself when you let go. If you hold it open for 30-45 seconds it will pressurize almost like normal. I have been using these pistols for about 25 years, haven't run into this before. Most of the time failures are leaking seals so they won't pressurize, this is opposite.

if the piston head is adjusted right the piston head Oring comes pass the slot so air can refill the cylinder
if you pull the cocking handle forward and then cock the pistol it should charge the pistol
i have many 7-7 pistols and rebuilt them to the point i can do it in my sleep
i have at one point remember this happened to me but disappeared and never figured it out
the pistol cannot create a vacuum when breech is not cocked, and the handle is being moved forward because the valve is being held open
take it apart reassemble and test

so, the problem you are having in theory can not happen

the charging handle has more resistance with the breech is cocked but the breech doesn't need to be cocked till after the charging handle is moved forward

i have had a 717 in hand trying to get what you have but it will not

odd problem

Did you by chance replace the valve stem with a new stem? The new stems have a different shaped delrin seal from the originals. I sometimes get blow by when trying to charge it with a new stem in an old valve. The new delrin seal is round and the cold one is slightly cone shaped. The old style is obsolete. You must replace the whole assembly if going with a new style stem if it leaks. The charging handle will just flop and not charge. A lady at daisy told me about it,

the handles are the same, the pivot point is the same, it has no real choice but to be out of the tube
for most of us that have these pistols the 717-747 rear sights are next to impossible to find and to repair them is a waste of time because how they are made