Diana Diana 34 T01 Tune Kit Recommendations

My 1998 Diana 34 T01 is coming along. My next question is about tuning kits. I’m completely new to this hobby so I’m still learning. I’ve read serval posts about “tuning kits“. It is my understanding that these kits reduce the “twang” of stock springs and improve the FPS consistency, resulting in smoother more consistent shots. Can I get your advice on which tuning kit to buy?

Also, what would be the advantages to sending my gun to a professional tuner instead? How much would that cost?

Thanks,

Jeff

To me, the biggest advantage to quality aftermarket springs is their longevity: app. three to six times that of factory springs. Even with consumables, replacing parts and then breaking them in (a neccessity in every case) gets old pretty fast.

Many people feel the factory D34's (and many other guns) are oversprung, meaning the mainsprings used are unneccessarily strong / long / harsh, producing an aggressive shot cycle. Some aftermarket springs / kits, especially Maccari, are appreciably smoother, and easier to cock, as well.

Tuning kit guides fit the mainspring much better than factory guides, reducing or eliminating twang, buzz and other mechanical noise. This is a bit like learning to appreciate fine coffee / whisky / whathaveyou, in that once you get used to a high quality product, the lower quality stuff, which you used to be perfectly happy with, is now just terrible. So, it's a mixed blessing. The twang / buzz doesn't make a gun inaccurate, after all.

I don't buy kits, but I do buy aftermarket parts. My 1988 T01 D34 has a cut Titan #3 mainspring now, which fit a factory rear guide perfectly, and yielded optimal velocities for a .177 cal field gun. These days, I only use Titan springs, as they are the most predictable, dependable and durable springs around. Titan does not make kits, however. Some British companies offer kits that utilize the Titans, though.