N/A Fwb 65 variant

Can anybody tell me what variant this fwb 65 is ?

Thx

20231203_144846.jpg

20231203_144910.jpg

The trigger guard shape is that of a model 65. and it is plainly marked a model 65. The grips look like those on a model 80. That's about all I can say. No idea if the model 65 was really available with those grips as a factory option.

Here's a link showing some different guns but looking rather quickly I did not see anything to indicate any varients
https://forum.vintageairgunsgallery...ols/feinwerkbau-spring-air-pistol-collection/

You might look at the barrel length, there was a short barrel version and there were some with short and long rear tangs, where the rear sight attaches. I am by no means an expert but I think that one has a long tang,

Changes to the 65 over time were minimal. Per the VAG link above, I sorta divide the 65 into three generations, mostly distinguished by the frame casting and sights.

+ "Gen 1:" Rounded front sight housing with fixed integral blade, recessed lettering, short tang, and a short rear sight with interchangeable blades for different notch widths.
+ "Gen 2:" Rounded front sight with interchangeable blade inserts, embossed lettering, short tang, and a longer rear sight with cam-adjusted notch width.
+ "Gen 3:" Angular front sight housing, embossed lettering, long tang, and a wider cammed rear sight. Both sights were shared with the model 80.

The 65's standard grips were actually sport type ones in checkered plastic. Wood sport grips (early checkered, later stippled) and match grips (in two subtly different styles, made in different sizes, and left and right-handed) were all optional upgrades. The nice tapered blued barrel sleeve was also an optional fitting.

Beeman's US marketing of the 65 caused some confusion:
1. He always pushed the match grips. Wood sport grips were a pricey option only. He never even illustrated the basic plastic ones.