Gamo Gamo Swarm Magnum scraping sound during charge

Hello. I am new to airguns and just received my brand new Gamo Swarm Magnum 3i in .22 cal. This is my first airgun so I am not familiar with the peculiarities of these guns. I own several 'powder' firearms so I am not new to firearms just to Airguns. The issue I am having right out of the box is a scraping sound and feel when I am returning the barrel to the shooting position after breaking the barrel to charge the gas ram. I can charge the ram, but the scraping sound starts about a 1/4 of the way back from full break and then about half way thru the rest of the return stroke to the firing position. I would not expect that from a brand new gun. After visually inspecting the ram linkage and seeing nothing out of the ordinary, I decided to remove the stock for a closer internal inspection of the linkage. Because the gun is brand new and only has 2 mags thru it, I do not see any wear on any surfaces. while i had it open, I put a bit of Lucas gun grease that I would use on my regular gun's slides and bolt carriers, on the articulating pivot points on the linkage and the small plastic roller. That seemed to have improved the situation slightly but there is still the annoying scraping sound when the barrel returns during the charge cycle. I even put a light grease film on the trigger safety linkage as some of the sound seemed to emanate from it.
My questions are; is this a normal situation with these guns? Will this eventually work in? or will I be abnormally wearing some internals of the charging linkage and guides it runs in? How concerned should i be? Should I be reaching out to Gamo directly for direction?
As I say this is my first air gun experience so I figured I would ask the collective wisdom and experience of folks on this forum for some insight.

Thank you in advance