Hand pumping question ??

I have added this filter to my hand pumps https://www.pyramydair.com/search-results-ext?keyword=Air+Venturi+filter.

My question is do the small cannister filters with just a fabric type filter really add benefit beyond just using the small cigarette filter that hand pumps come with stock? I ask because the larger filter really makes the pumping less efficient. The gun will fill much faster with just the small cigarette filter hooked up. If the second filter really isn’t adding much benefit then why do the extra pumping I guess ?

In my opinion, those are a waste. I haven't bothered with any filter at all on my hand pumps. Stick to 60 strokes or less, bleed the pressure (and collected moisture) with a few minutes of cool-down time, and you won't have any trouble with moisture unless your filling your guns in the swimming pool. I've been doing this for the past 8 years or so and never had any evidence of moisture in any of my guns using either my Hill pump or the cheapo Chinese one I bought to replace it.

In my opinion, those are a waste. I haven't bothered with any filter at all on my hand pumps. Stick to 60 strokes or less, bleed the pressure (and collected moisture) with a few minutes of cool-down time, and you won't have any trouble with moisture unless your filling your guns in the swimming pool. I've been doing this for the past 8 years or so and never had any evidence of moisture in any of my guns using either my Hill pump or the cheapo Chinese one I bought to replace it.
Good to hear. Since it is winter here and the air is dryer I haven’t been using that extra filter. I have been pretty surprised how much faster I can fill my guns without that thing inline. Maybe I will just drop it altogether.

Reactions: maxtrouble