Looking for a rifle for coyote hunting.

IMG_0054.1637725972.JPG
IN ABOUT 2 MONTHS I WILL BE SHOPING FOR A NEW PCP FOR HUNTING COYOTES ( $ 600-800) Range.Would like everyone's opinion please. I do have a 25 cal Avenger I'm using for now ,using NSA 33.5 slugs that work on head shots . I'm looking at AEA guns but i have a funny feeling about them, maybe I'm wrong? I'm still very new to pcps. that's a 1/8 steel plate, the deep ones are from NSA29 grain slugs, OFF HAND AT 65 YARDS and yes i have shot and killed coyotes with this setup (head shots)

I am not trying to bust your chops... but have to ask. Have you ever hunted yotes before? They are very tough to hunt, and can be very, very tough to kill cleanly even with powder burners. Head shots are difficult to make due to the head moving so much and the skull is shaped such that even a partly off line shot will glance off the skull.

Bunnies and squirrels are a different level of hunting vs. coyotes. Good luck to ya. FWIW, a .22 can be enough - but I would rather have more FPE available than most .22 pcp are set up for, to hunt 'yotes. A good stiff wind will kill a rabbit, and a 2# squirrel is a huge squirrel, however, a 25# cotoye is a tough bastard.

I really wish guys would stop posting grossly under caliber/power hunting examples. They never show all the animals they wound that die from sepsis or predation and people get the wrong impression. If you kill much of anything larger than a raccoon with a .177 it’s just pure luck of the shot. Raccoon and possum is where I stop at with .22 and a typical 30FPE

I dislike coyotes but a .22 Rimfire with high velocity is the least I use (I don’t have an 80 or so FPE air rifle).

There are other corners of the internet with people talking about shooting deer and hogs with .177 and it’s just not right. It’s so simple to just grab something with the proper power for the job.

Reactions: Hal4son