N/A New to the Forum and new to PCPs

Hello, like the title says, I'm new here. I'm currently living in So Cal. I've been shooting firearms since about 1976 and casually shooting/plinking/hunting small game with air guns since about 1980. I've been involved with 1000 yard benchrest .50 cal matches since 2006. I finally took the PCP plunge a few days ago and ordered an Avenger X in .22. I feel completely lost right now but, hopefully my rifle, optics, compressor, CF tank, etc. will be here this Friday and I'll be more comfortable once I have them in hand. As soon as I learn a little more, I'm sure I'll end up with a .30, .38, .50 and probably a Seneca shotgun within a year or two. Of course, I'll probably end up with a higher end .22 too. The Avenger X is going to be my go to EDC on my side by side and ready for Euroasians, quail and cottontails at all times (during the appropriate seasons). I'm assuming I should run a couple patches down my barrel prior to shooting it. Is there anything else I should do with a brand new setup? Do I need to purge a new tank like I do when filling a LP tank for the first time? Am I just being a wimp by being scared of the high pressures associated with PCPs? I'm excited and nervous about getting into PCPs.

It sounds like you’re doing everything right. I don’t own one, but the Avenge X is pretty well regarded by the community here in general and a CF tank is a really good way to go when it comes to charging things, particularly if you’re driving to the location where you’re going to shoot. They can charge the gun fast and easily, hold a lot of air and are generally much lighter and smaller than scuba tanks, and hold more air too.

There shouldn’t be any need to purge one providing you don’t allow any moisture to get in when you fill it.

Welcome - We left SoCal a little over a year ago for SC. Instead of Earthquakes, we have a hurricane coming north. Been raining for the last two days, over 4 inches of water - I love it.