NSA .20/18.9 expansion experiment

To add on to this.....

And as I commented that I'd test here....https://www.airgunnation.com/threads/hollowpoint-skiving-serration-on-slugs.1316203/

Credit to @Motorhead as I saw him do it first and shared about it online a couple years ago...

I started shooting these .20/18.9s not long after they came out, and struck slug gold! Absolutely amazing slug. Theyve become my número uno for prairie dog pesting at a couple of the areas (where there's nothing behind the dog colony). As I've noted though, they tend to poke a hole versus dead-right-there a pest. I've had them go clean through big euro doves, wing joints included. And they usually go through and through the dogs and keep bouncing, kicking up dust like a rock skipping on water. Even a head shot on a dog out to 100yards doesn't stop the slug. So I've always assumed very minimal, if any expansion.

After the discussion a few days ago I decided to give the ole Motorhead Phillips tip a go.

A Ph-1 was the ticket. There was concern raised about base deformation when using a hammer and hard table, etc. So I just pushed them against my thumb. I'd rather they stay accurate, even if it means no expansion, so wasn't too keen on the idea of doing something to them that would make them shoot less accurately.

Made myself about 40 of them in just a couple minutes.
Here are the first couple.

PXL_20240730_030037822.jpg

First order of business...are they still accurate?
This pipe is at 95 yards on my back irrigation berms. This is three shots (whiter marks above and right are bird crap).
PXL_20240730_161337645.jpg

Yep, still accurate!

First experiment......