Pellet Kills

Newbie here...just getting into PCP. I'm wanting a .25 and was thinking I'd definitely want to shoot slugs, but now I'm wondering if I'd be perfectly happy with pellets?

It would mostly be used for varmints (squirrels, rabbits, rock chucks, maybe occasional trash panda) and birds. It wouldn't be super long distance...but maybe stretch it out to 100 yards occasionally.

Thoughts?

Thanks. What grain pellets would you recommend for those pests?

Pellet weight will depend on the power output of the PCP you choose. The 34grain .25s made by JSB are one of the top couple "best" long range pellet options. If your gun can push em to 880-900, that would be the easy choice.

For a lower powered .25, the other good .25 pellet option is the 25.4gr, although it has a lower ballistic coefficient and won't fair as well on the 100 yard shots as the 34grainer will.

Reactions: HogKiller
Pellets. Been there and done that recently. I have the Wildcat .30 for slugs and a .25 barrel kit for same that shoots only pellets and really well at that. The problem with 1 gun that shoots both is the power needed to push slugs. Unless you have a compressor and large bottle on the gun, slugs eat air faster than you can fill a tank. Pellets use less air.

Then it's the 1 gun you need to shoot both, it can be done, it takes adjustments to get both to shoot good from 1 gun. I gave up. There are some that shoot .22 slugs really well and the work by a few developers have made the .22 slug a success. Or if you can afford it, get 2. One for pellets and one for slugs only.

Myself and others here have found it time consuming and costly trying to find a slug to shoot well in .25. I found only a few out of maybe 10 Slugs so far and not very well as far as 50 yards goes. Search here about .25 slugs, lots of dead ends. Pellets in .25 are very accurate and easy to find and shoot to 100 yards.