FX Problem with FX CF Sleeves

Thanks for the replies. I’m a chemist and was thinking of the chemical reasons. Carbon will oxidize(burn) eventually. You don’t want a LOT of it in your lungs, though. The epoxy that binds the carbon fiber can be a bit toxic if unreacted parts ( epoxy or hardener) are present.
I hadn’t thought about the physical shapes being an issue like asbestos, which is fibrous. Chemically, asbestos and talcs are similar. But, they are different physically. Talcs can be plate like or needle like. EPA and OSHA ruled talcs as carcinogens but I don’t believe it was scientifically or clinically based.
Sorry for being long winded! Was just trying to better understand the reasoning…..
To your point on Talcs, a few million of us and our mothers breathed in that stuff for quite a few months, personally I'm still good to go after 7.7 decades, lungs are clear, and that despite working in a grinding shop with tungsten carbide and aluminum oxide among other crud. Now fiberglass, I'll pass on that stuff.

To your point on Talcs, a few million of us and our mothers breathed in that stuff for quite a few months, personally I'm still good to go after 7.7 decades, lungs are clear, and that despite working in a grinding shop with tungsten carbide and aluminum oxide among other crud. Now fiberglass, I'll pass on that stuff.
Well! We are the same age and I quit smoking more than 40 years ago. It coincided with the birth of my son.
It’s interesting that the largest portion of deaths from asbestos were from those who also smoked. No, I am NOT saying asbestos was not part of the cause, at all! Clearly, the combination was deadly!

I just used pieces of sand paper and then went to town on the pipes, like a young boy would do thinking about the neighbours pretty daughter.

Have to be careful with CF dust though, that's not nice stuff to breathe in, i suppose you could wet sand with coarser paper than you would use sanding a car.