• Please consider adding your "Event" to the Calendar located on our Home page!

Regulated vs Un-Regulated

I’m going to buy a Daystate Revere for informal backyard target practice (primarily offhand ) and field target competition. I’m new to the world of PCPs. My frame of reference is a Beeman R7 and FWB 300s. A post on one of the other subject areas “Daystate Revere Consistency” has me wondering whether I should/need to purchase a regulated vs an un-regulated gun. I think regulated, but want to be sure. I’d appreciate your comments. Thanks, Tom

Better unregulated air guns are better than poorly made regulated guns. Confusing? An Air Arms S500/S400 rifle unregulated will give more consistent shots than most factory regulated BSA R10 Mk2's. That's a blanket statement, but pretty accurate. It just depends on the rifle. Air Arms does something special to their unregulated rifles that make them shoot super consistent. In contrast, an unregulated Daystate Huntsman can't hold a candle to the Air Arms rifles. It would take putting a regulator in a Huntsman to make it shoot as consistent as an unregulated Air Arms.
If it were me, I would find a rifle I like, that fits, has the features etc, that I wanted and then worry about consistency. If it turns out to be regulated, then great. If it's not, then ask questions, and find out about it's track record. To be honest, air guns are moving more to regulated every day. I don't know of any "high end" air gun that is not regulated, that ought to tell you something.

Reactions: Airgunoregon
Regulator are only SLIGHTLY more o-ring maintenance needed than the rest of the high pressure pneumatic systems o-rings.

Sure some go years, sure some leak out of the box, O-rings ARE a maintenance item period !
Learn to service your PCP/s yourself or pay to have it done.

No Whining Allowed .. Lol :LOL: