• Please consider adding your "Event" to the Calendar located on our Home page!

Setting up HM1000x for benchrest

Hello, I have an HM1000x .30 in the original design stock. No sling stud or front rail. It used to be for groundhog control, but I no longer have horse pastures to worry about so I'm thinking of reconfiguring this gun to be a benchrest toy. But I have no background with airgun benchrest aside from struggling to shoot this rifle well on the bench.

Q1) It's safe to say that resting the bottle on my front rest is not a consistent front support. I'm thinking of buying the LRT stock or some other more bench-suitable stock. Recommendations appreciated. Front rest is currently a SEB Mini-X.
Q2) I have an Atlas bipod mostly gathering dust. I see a lot of airgun benchrest guns running bipods - and I appreciate the versatility of a bipod - but will a bipod consistently compete with the accuracy of a flat-bottom forend in a stable front rest?
Q3) I bought some FX and NSA slugs. It's clear that my barrel loves JSB pellets much more than any of those slugs. And AZ has proven this barrel can shoot pellets very well. (Nothing against the slugs themselves, just the usual "the barrel wants what the barrel wants" situations). Ballistically, am I giving up too much shooting pellets vs slugs?

Opinions and ideas appreciated.

Thanks,

David

My stock choices would be the aluminum tactical stock because you have the option of all kinds of accessories such as bench plates, bipods, weights etc.
If that style of stock doesn’t work for you you pick a true Benchrest stock BM-1000x which is just like the BM-500 but for the larger action.
The SEB mini or Farley or Randolph plus any of the common CF Benchrest rests will work fine.