What does it take??

I have been hunting for over 25 years. It is a way of life for me and my family. After years of hunting, the tiny .22LR has always been a "squirrel" gun and nothing more. Yes, I have killed many animals much larger than a squirrel with a .22LR, but only because it was at hand when something had to die. Yet after watching a .22LR kill hogs and cattle for slaughter, take down yotes while squirrel hunting, and tons of raccoons with dogs thrashing the trees they were in, the .22LR is still only good for squirrels?? At over 100fpe from a standard length rifle barrel, the .22LR has more energy than nearly all but the big bore air rifles. Wait a minute...... how can an airgun kill anything?? After a number of years hunting and pesting with airguns, I realize that my collection of .22 rimfires has alot more capability than I have given them prior!!

So, airgun hunting is my thing. I love hunting with airguns. I have taken everything from coyotes down to mice and small pest birds with an airgun. My old mentality regarding how much power is needed to take a critter has changed ALOT since becoming an "Airgun Hunter". I still believe that there is no replacement for plenty of FPE and big calibers still make big holes, but a precision shot from an airgun will flip the switch on alot of animals!! Remember that airguns DO require precise shot placement to kill anything. There is no hydro shock or massive impact trama that exists with most any firearm. We have to rely on placing a pellet with the precision of a brain surgeon removing a tumor. So, if the pellet hits its mark, how much energy(FPE) do we need to humanely kill critters?